Yoga Pose

The Different Types of Yoga and Their Benefits

a brief history

Yoga is an ancient physical, mental, and spiritual discipline that has been practiced for centuries in India. It is believed to have originated in ancient India over 5,000 years ago and has since spread to become a popular form of exercise and meditation worldwide.

The origins of yoga can be traced back to the Vedic period in ancient India, where it was primarily a spiritual practice used to cultivate inner peace and enlightenment. The practice was later codified in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, an ancient Indian text that outlines the eight limbs of yoga, known as the Ashtanga Yoga.

The Ashtanga Yoga consists of eight limbs, including yama (moral codes), niyama (self-discipline and personal practices), asana (yoga postures), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (sense withdrawal), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (absorption). These eight limbs aim to cultivate physical and mental discipline and ultimately lead the practitioner to a state of enlightenment.

In the modern era, yoga has evolved to become a popular form of exercise and stress management, with various styles and approaches catering to different needs and preferences. It is now practiced by millions of people around the world and has become a mainstream fitness activity.

Despite its modern popularity, yoga remains a deeply spiritual practice for many, and the ultimate goal of the practice is to achieve a state of inner peace and enlightenment through the cultivation of physical and mental discipline.

There are various types of yoga:

hatha yoga

Hatha yoga is a general term that refers to the physical practice of yoga postures. It is a slow-paced style of yoga that is suitable for beginners and focuses on alignment, relaxation, and breath control. Hatha yoga classes often include a series of basic poses, such as downward facing dog, warrior, and tree pose.

Vinyasa Yoga

Vinyasa yoga, also known as flow yoga, is a dynamic and fast-paced style of yoga that focuses on fluid movement between poses. It involves linking breath and movement in a continuous flow, creating a moving meditation. Vinyasa yoga classes often involve a series of sun salutations and variations of familiar yoga poses.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is a more physically demanding style of yoga that follows a set sequence of poses that are performed in a specific order. It involves synchronizing the breath with a series of movements, and practitioners are encouraged to move through the poses with precision and control. Ashtanga yoga is a challenging and physically demanding practice, and it is not recommended for beginners.

Yoga Pose

Bikram Yoga

Bikram yoga is a hot yoga style that involves performing a series of 26 poses in a heated room. The heat and humidity are believed to help loosen the muscles and allow for a deeper stretch. Bikram yoga is a physically demanding practice and it is not recommended for those with certain medical conditions or those who are pregnant.

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar yoga is a precise and alignment-focused style of yoga that emphasizes proper alignment and the use of props, such as blocks, straps, and blankets, to support the body in each pose. Iyengar yoga is suitable for all levels of practitioners and is often recommended for those with injuries or other physical limitations.

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga is a spiritual and energetic style of yoga that focuses on awakening and activating the kundalini energy located at the base of the spine. It involves the use of breath work, chanting, and physical postures to release this energy and bring about a state of enlightenment. Kundalini yoga classes often involve dynamic and physically demanding movements, and it is not recommended for beginners.

Yin Yoga

Yin yoga is a slow-paced and meditative style of yoga that involves holding seated or lying down poses for several minutes at a time. It targets the connective tissues in the body, such as the tendons, ligaments, and fascia, and is believed to improve flexibility and relaxation. Yin yoga is suitable for all levels of practitioners and is often recommended for those seeking a more restful and meditative practice.

No matter which type of yoga you choose, the ultimate goal is to achieve a sense of balance and well-being in the body.


to find a class near you:

United Kingdom: The British Wheel of Yoga

USA: Yoga Alliance

Before trying any new form of exercise, please consult your General Practitioner or other health professional.